Son Fornés archaeological site is located at 2,5km from the village of Montuïri (Ma-3200). The first excavation was undertaken in 1975. Since that year, and until 2011, a further fourteen archaeological campaigns have documented three periods: Talayotic, Postalayotic and Roman periods. All detailed information regarding the archaeological site can be found at Son Fornés Arqueològic Museum, a monographic museum located in a mill called 'l'en Fraret', in the village of Montuïri located in Ma-3220 road connecting the town with Sant Joan.
The Auditorium of Palma, one of the great cultural references of Mallorca. Its façade overlooks the sea, specifically the port, and has one of the best panoramic views of the city. Here takes place, throughout the year, much of the cultural and social life of Palma de Mallorca. Rare is the day that it does not host several music or theater shows, some interesting congress, international meetings of the most diverse disciplines and sciences, or even debates on current issues. In addition, the Auditorium of Palma is celebrating its 50th anniversary in 2019.
C/ Sant Roc, 4. The Estudio General Luliano is a teaching institution founded in the 15th century, which subsequently, in the 17th century, became the Luliana de Mallorca University. After various changes, the current institution was created in 1951 to promote the culture of Mallorca and university studies. This institution is now used as a language school and for other teaching and cultural activities. The present-day building, in a Regionalist style, is the result of reconstruction in the 1950s, by the architect Gabriel Alomar. Some of the coats of arms and Gothic and Renaissance capitals survive from the ancient building and have been incorporated into the current building.
We are now in another symbolic street of the old quarter, where there is a large number of mansions, most of which have been converted. The best-preserved building is Can Olesa, one of the most famous mansions in Palma. The façade still has an early wall, dating back to the 16th century, with Renaissance windows displaying the coats of arms of the Descós family. The current house is the result of renovation work at the end of the 17th century, arranged around a magnificent central courtyard. This courtyard is one of the earliest examples of the Mallorcan Baroque patio, with its characteristic columns, extraordinarily low arches and a staircase crowned by a gallery of three arches. This house is one of the few in the city still boasting its original period interior. It was declared a Historical and Artistic Monument in 1973.
The calle de la Portella is one of the most magnificent streets in Palma, where some of the most emblematic mansions in the city can be found. From the 17th century there is the outstanding Can Formiguera, with a splendid balcony overlooking the street and the coat of arms on the corner displaying the arms of Ramon Burgues-Safortesa y Fuster, the count of Formiguera, a legendary figure in the history of Mallorca who is known by the name of "Comte Mal". Opposite we find the ancient lodgings of the Carthusians of Valldemossa in Palma, which following the confiscation of church property fell into private hands and is known as Cal Comte d'Espanya. The building was reconstructed in the 18th century and contains a beautiful Baroque courtyard. In the niche of the doorway we can see the image of St Bruno. Halfway along the street there are two large historic houses with Neo-Gothic features. The most significant is Can Espanya-Serra, which has an important late 19th century courtyard. In all of these buildings we can see the layout of the Mallorcan noble mansion which, generally speaking, tends to retain the great, traditionally Gothic, semicircular doorway, the studio floor, the balcony on the piano nobile and the rows of windows or columns of the attic or upper porxo. Lastly, there are the wonderful eaves protruding over the street and helping to protect the wall of the façade. On the left, if we go down towards the city wall, where an old mansion once stood, we come to the museum dedicated to the Catalan painter Joaquim Torrents Lladó (1946-1993), exhibiting his life and works. Further on, on Dalt Murada, we can see the large building of Ca la Torre (an abbreviation of Cal Marquès de la Torre), a mansion built in the early 18th century and an early example of the sober tone of Mallorcan noble architecture; its courtyard is integrated into the medieval walls.
The path we have taken is known by the name of "Dalt Murada", and from here we can see what were once the boundaries of the Roman city which stretched from the palace of La Almudaina to the eastern end of the Episcopal palace. On the southern façade of this building, looking towards the sea, we can see a walkway with Modernist-style guard posts which are attributed to the famous Catalan architect Antoni Gaudí, as well as the iron railings of some windows. The wall we can see at the foot of the cathedral is the old Roman city wall, which was transformed during the Middle Ages and totally rebuilt over the course of the centuries. In fact, the whole sea front of the fortified city was reconstructed in the 18th century with the new city wall on top of the one we can see now, built on top of land reclaimed from the sea. The highlights of this structure are the guard posts that have a Baroque form. The area known as ses Voltes is a former barracks completed in 1802 and refurbished by the architects Elies Torres and José A. Martínez Lapeña between 1983 and 1991, for leisure and cultural use.
In the garden of la Lonja we can see one of the oldest gates of the city wall. This is known as the Porta del Moll (gate of the quay), built in 1620 by the master builder of the fortification, Antoni Saura, in collaboration with Jaume Blanquer, one of the best Mallorcan sculptors of the time. This is not its original site; the gate was originally inserted into the medieval wall alongside the sea, and then into the new one constructed in the 18th century in front of la Lonja. The gate represents a kind of triumphal arch in the Mannerist style, crowned on the arch by a small statue of the Immaculate Conception. The entablature carries an inscription referring to its construction. This was the main entrance gate to the city, and its artistic and monumental style is in line with the highly symbolic nature of the gates in ancient fortified enclosures. They would display the coats of arms of the king and his counsel, which in the case of the Porta del Moll were removed in the 18th century. Beside the gate stands the Consolat de Mar, now the headquarters of the Balearic Government. This building was originally the home of the Colegio de la Mercaderia, with a beautiful Gothic chapel added to its rear. The Consolat de Mar was an institution that acted as a court in order to resolve maritime conflicts and those between merchants. On the left-hand side we can see Can Chacón, with a beautiful 18th century Baroque gallery, from when the building was owned by this family of Andalusian origin. At the end of the 17th century it was the residence of the military engineer Martín Gil de Gaínza (1650-1737), who had it built above the wall.
In the 16th century the Renaissance enclosure of Palma was begun with walls and bastions adapted for artillery purposes. The creator of the project was the Italian engineer Giacomo Palearo, more commonly known as Captain Fratin (+1586). To be precise, work commenced on the enclosure in 1575 with the construction of the bastion of Santa Catalina, which was the name of the medieval gate and of the area still standing to the west today. That bastion would later be known as the bastion of Santa Creu, the name of the parish, and as the bastion of Sant Pere, due to the name of the street. This bastion was reconstructed in the first half of the 17th century by the Mallorcan engineer Vicenç Mut i Armengol (1614-1687), and between 1644 and 1656 a new gate was opened in the wall which no longer exists, but of which part of its bridge over the water course of Sa Riera survives. The bastion has endured many changes, and the one we can see today is what has remained of the old fortification. The bastion had two levels: the one known as the lower bastion, forming the square overlooking the paseo de Sagrera and the quay, and the one known as the upper bastion, which now contains the building of the Palma Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art, opened in January 2004. The gate with the ramp was once the gateway up to this upper part of the bastion, which was totally embanked.
House occupied by the Oms family in 1642, whose coat of arms can be seen on the staircase landing. The courtyard is the result of alterations in the 18th c. The Gothic portal located to the left of the entrance bears the Armadans coat of arms, which was brought from the family’s medieval home, which still stands on c/ de Can Sanç
Medieval house reformed in the 16th century by the Sureda Family whose coat of arms can be seen in the study windows and in different places in the courtyard. Probably dating from the 17th century, the courtyard was reformed in the 19th century and underwent a final modification by the architect Guillem Forteza in 1941, when the present staircase was designed. A project by the architect Miquel Vicens restored the house to its original aspect in order to be the headquarters for Palma’s municipal archive.
Download your Mallorca guide!