Llubí is a municipality in the autonomous community of Balearic Islands, Spain. Located on the island of Mallorca, in the region of Pla de Mallorca, northwest of the capital, almost in the center of Mallorca and 40 kilometers from the Balearic capital, Palma de Mallorca. It celebrates its patron saint festivities, those of Sant Feliu, every August 1st. It also celebrates the Festes de s'Ermita. The Fair is also celebrated on the first Tuesday after Santa Catalina. Etymologically, Llubí comes from the Roman toponym Castro-lupino, which derived in Castell Llubí, which today is known as Llubí as it could be due to the fact that to the south there is a prehistoric Talayotic settlement fortified with a cyclopean wall. Previously Llubí was a "llogaret" (a group of houses that belonged to another village) depended on the village of Muro which is located near the village.
La Puebla, formerly known as Uialfás and La Puebla de Uialfás (officially and in Catalan Sa Pobla) is a municipality in the autonomous community of Balearic Islands, Spain. Located on the island of Mallorca, in the region of Raiguer. It is between Muro, Llubí, Búger, Alcudia and Pollença. It is known for its large production of potatoes and other crops.
Buger is an inland town located in the north of Mallorca, about 15 minutes from the coast, and is the smallest municipality of Mallorca. Buger is a small town located on the top of a hill with beautiful views of the north coast and central area of Mallorca. The activity of this locality takes place around its main street and in the center of the locality where we find the majority of businesses and some cafeterias with their ample terraces. In Buger one breathes an air of tranquility, it is the authentic rural Majorca. Its surroundings are made up of cultivated areas with almond and carob tree fields.
Selva consists of 5 population centers where the largest of them is the town of Selva where the town hall is located, the other towns are Caimari, Moscari, Biniamar and Binibona, all these towns are within walking distance of each other and have many features in common. All these small towns have a special charm, they have narrow streets full of unevenness with old houses built of stone and very well maintained. Their environment is spectacular, they are surrounded by fields with cultivated areas, olive and almond trees and always in the background the magnificent view of the mountains.
Hidden under the shadow of the Tramuntana mountains, Lloseta is a surprise to discover. It is a quiet village with character, a village made of hard-working, friendly and close people who always have a smile and a warm welcome for the visitor. Lloseta is a different option to spend a great day. It can also be a starting point for other excursions or to discover the great natural heritage of Mallorca and also a World Heritage Site: The Tramuntana Mountains. There is always a good plan for a stay in Lloseta: gastronomy, culture, heritage, nature, sport, shopping... You have never found so much and so varied in a place with so much charm.
Consell is the fourth smallest municipality in Mallorca and one of the richest for its agricultural production. Its lands are part of the denomination of origin Binisalem and some of the most renowned wines of Mallorca are produced in its lands. The vineyard is the most characteristic element of the municipality. In 1990 it occupied more than 3% of its entire surface. The construction of the freeway has taken away part of the historical importance that Consell had, being always located in a privileged place of the main communication routes of the island. Already in Roman times (2nd century BC-5th century AD) Consell was a revealing point. Consell borders the municipalities of Binisalem, Santa Maria del Camí, Sencelles, Santa Eugenia and Alaró, to which it belonged until 1925. One of its main buildings is the church, in addition to the possession of Can Ribas, within the town center. Among the architectural elements to highlight is the Pont Trencat, medieval according to tradition, which is located in the Camí del Raiguer, in the partition with the term of Alaró.
Galilea is a small village in the Puigpunyent municipality situated at 500 metres of altitude, on the south slope of the mythical Galatzó mountain. The centre is formed by traditional houses established round the Immaculada Concepció church, build in 1810. Next to the church there is a square with a bar restaurant, meeting point for the neighbours and frequented by tourists and travellers that visit the area. The square is also the activity centre during the patron saint fiestas, that are celebrated on September 8. Galilea is a priviliged place, away from the stress of the modern life, with a spectacular view over the Calvià coast, peaceful stone streets, and fresh mountain air. The village communicates with Palma via Puigpunyent, the nearest town, four kilometres away. There is another way to reach Galilea, from the West, following the local road that connects this village with Es Capdellà, through extraordinarily attractive virgin forests. Galilea has nowadays some 200 inhabitants, including many foreigners who have chosen this singular site in the Serra de Tramuntana as their home. Amongst the foreign residents that live in the village there are some well know artists, such as the couple made of by John Ulbricht and Angela Von Neumann, who settled in Galilea in the end of the 50's.
The project was drafted by Eusebi Estada. In 1897 the mayor of Pollensa addressed a letter to the General Directorate of Public Works, requesting the location of a lighthouse in "la Punta Avanzada", so its construction was determined in December 1898. At the beginning it was thought that it would be of 6th order and red fixed light, but in the Plan of 1902 it was granted an appearance of concealments. Its construction began in 1903 and it was inaugurated on December 15, 1905 with a curious appearance of short and long flashes separated by occultations of equal duration. The long flashes were of 8 seconds and the short ones of 2 seconds, while the occultations lasted 3.5 seconds. It began by illuminating with a 250 mm focal length dioptric optic for single-wick Maris lamps. The illumination system also had an incandescent lamp and external heating for foggy days, also manufactured by Barbier Benard and Turenne, with 30 mm caps (first of this type in the Balearic Islands). In October 1953 the signal was electrified and in 1974 the tower was raised 6 meters, modifying at the same time its turret and changing the lantern. Although it was not a lighthouse exposed to the big storms, its lighthouse keepers had to take charge in more than one occasion of rescuing the castaways of some boats. On one of these occasions, on January 27, 1909, the lighthouse keeper's young son reported that a falucho was sinking with two crew members. Of the two sailors, only one could be saved, and the lighthouse keeper reported that the other had died only ten minutes earlier.
Although there was a first project by Emili Pou to install a 6th order lighthouse in this enclave, it did not materialize until much later, when a simple automated light was installed by means of a solar valve and acetylene gas flashers of the "naked flame" type. It was inaugurated on September 1, 1974 with a typical 350 mm diopter optic. The project was drafted by Rafael Soler. As the lighthouses on the island of Dragonera were also automated, both these and the Mola de Andratx lighthouse became part of the group of lighthouses whose technicians in charge lived in Puerto de Andratx, in some houses near the red beacon at the entrance to the port, which also belonged to the group of lights they had to attend to. It belongs to the first generation of lighthouses that were built without houses for the lighthouse keepers, although there were already quite a few automated beacons since the second decade of the 20th century. The urban pressure to which the area is subjected, has motivated that it is raised for a near future the necessary reforms that guarantee the reach and luminous coverage established for this signal.
Download your Mallorca guide!