There are many reasons beyond religion that contribute to make a church an emblematic building, and one of them is to have a good location. The church of Sant Llorenç undoubtedly meets this condition, with its front standing out in the middle of the main square of Selva (Mallorca) and its beaked bell tower of sprouting windows and pyramidal roof protruding among the surrounding buildings, wanting to scratch the sky of the Raiguer region. It has been there for a long time, since the 14th century, when it came to replace another even more primitive temple, although successive alterations have gradually changed its face. Of its two facades; one is the product of one of these reforms; the other, however, was part of the original Romanesque ensemble. Of that primitive aspect and of its mixed function as a fortress, the loopholes in the upper part also speak: small windows where the archers found just the right width for their arrows. A lot of art, many valuable elements concentrated in this temple consecrated to the patron saint of the town, San Lorenzo. It is not surprising that it is considered of cultural interest.
The construction of the current church began in 1691. The works lasted until 1864 and included successive reforms and extensions. The parish church is devoted to Saint Peter. A double flight of stairs leads to the main door. The door is furnished with an architrave, fluted jambs and an entablature bearing the date 1738. The pediment above the entablature has a medallion holding a relief of Saint Peter. The church has a side door that opens to the square. The door is furnished with jambs in the shape of round pilasters with rings on the lower section. It has a pointed arch. The tympanum has the coat of arms of Sencelles bearing the date of 1707 on the right and a coat of arms with the relief of a tree on the left. A square bell tower stands on the right of the side door. The cornice is surmounted by a balustrade. From this the tower rises octagonal and is crowned by a pinnacle or pyramid spire. Inside, the church is formed by a single nave covered by a barrel vault with smaller vaults giving light to the church. It is divided into three sections. It has six side chapels on each side, a choir and a trapezoidal apse.
In Establiments small urban nucleus of Palma you will be able to find a small church where the inhabitants of this district of Palma go every Sunday to mass. You will find it next to the road that takes you to Esporles.
Type of construction Baroque church (end 18th – early 19th century) Distinguishing elements Rectangular plan, single nave divided into six sections and lateral chapels. Half vaulted ceiling with lunettes. Façade with a big rose window finished with a mixtilineal fore part that has two big vaults in the ends. Square cloister with seven semicircular arches at each side. Neck of a baroque well (1747) in the middle. Important works of art preserved The Virgin of Grace (16th century), by Gabriel Mòger; Renaissance altarpiece of the Immaculate Conception (16th-17th); The Virgin of Hope (17th).
Type of construction Baroque (1667-1702) Important aspects Monks of Saint Jerome have lived there in closed order since 1534. Sister Clara Andreu i Malferit’s mortal remains (distinguished nun of the community) have been preserved in this place. Distinguished elements Front door with semicircular arch to enter the courtyard, patio with an old hackberry tree and a well. The church has a single nave with four sections and tiny lateral chapels. Half vaulted ceiling. Important works of art preserved Saint Christ of Blood (C14 or C15); baroque altarpieces of the Virgin of Candlestick and of the Holy Family (C17); two Gothic panels by Pere Terrencs (C15) and valuable paintings by Llopis and son (C16). Direcció: Carrer de les Monges, 129, 07300 Inca, T:971 50 00 95
The primitive church of s’Arenal stands on a high place, called ”es fossar”. Located on a plot that was donated by it’s owner Antonio Salvá de l’Allapassa i Ripoll. On Febuary 25, 1856, the first stone was laid and on july 12 of the same year the first part of the oratory was blessed and inaugurated. The work were completed in 1902 and is neo gothic style. Du to the demographic growth of s’Arenal, this temple was small and the construction of the new church began in 1969, conserving the precious construction. The new temple opened it’s doors in 1971. Schedule Masses * Weekdays : 19:30 hrs. * Holidays 10:00/11:30/19:30 hrs.
The sanctuary of our lady of grace was erected at the end of the 19th centuary. XV, after building the first gothic style. The current temple was complicated in 1819, on your left you will find the 18th centuary inn, which occupies what once were the cells of the hermits.
nice good
Symbol of the ancient splendor of the town: the palace was commissioned by the King of Mallorca Jaime II, in 1309. He had it built on a base of Islamic origin that was possibly the fortress of the emir Mubaxir, who died in 1114. Between 1319 and 1523 it was the residence of the veguer de fuera and, with the disappearance of the Kingdom of Mallorca, it suffered serious damages. In 1583, Philip II transferred it to the Conceptionist nuns and a major reform was carried out (especially intense in the seventeenth century) to adapt it to the conventual use. Not long ago, in 1987, the keep was renovated. The ensemble that has come down to us has elements of both a fortified palace and a strictly enclosed convent. It is a very heterogeneous ensemble and the church, of traditional typology, stands out.
Congregation that settled in Sineu in 1864. The oratory or chapel of the convent is a neo-Gothic building that was inaugurated in 1892. It has a doorway with a pointed arch, with four plain archivolts that, like the jambs, are free of ornamentation, with the lower part made of stone. Above the portal, a line of impost gives way to a rose window, the stained glass windows of which form the M of the anagram of Mary. The crowning presents vegetal motifs, two lateral pinnacles and a belfry topped by a cross. To the right of the chapel, marked with the number 19, rises the facade of the convent itself; it has three floors and a lintel doorway. To the left of the chapel is the school building, which was inaugurated on June 19, 1927. The classrooms of the building, currently unoccupied, are distributed on three floors. The educational work of the nuns lasted almost to the present day, until their eight-grade school became a public school.
Download your Mallorca guide!